“I’m here for the AC…”

The other day I went to the hospital for another appointment… does it matter for what? Not really.

I had gotten into a huge argument with my mother beforehand, I just wanted to go and get it over with. As I waited for the elevator, a sweet old gentlemen offered for me to get on first… and even clicked on what floor I needed to get off for me.

He then proceeded to talk about how glad he was it wasn’t so hot anymore [we recently had record breaking high heat lately…]. I returned his kind face with a smile and said “Today has been such gorgeous weather!!!!” He smiled back and nodded.

He then said, with a slight sigh, “I’m only here for the air conditioning!”

I smiled, and was going to say, “you should’ve gone to the movies instead…” but I eyed the floor he was going on and it was for outpatient some sort of therapy. So I just giggled with him, saying I was too and we parted ways.

“Have a great day!”

“Yes, you too!”

I realize meeting so many patients in hospitals, most of us stay so positive, happy, optimistic… it’s very uplifting when we talk and meet each other. We always wish each other the best and say the most unobvious uplifting things.

Bless his soul for making me smile within my heart that day… the smallest small talk made a big impact during my sad moment in life. Thank you!

Leave a comment