Craftbar, food done right – Colicchio, you’re awesome.

Tom Colicchio, how do you do it? After all this Top Chef stuff I always forget that you are an amazing food God.

So, how have I not been to a Craft restaurant in the city yet?! I’ve been to CraftSteak at MGM Foxwoods and I’ve been to Colicchio & Sons, twice – but none of the Craft “chains” here. Well… tonight’s the night.

I got there on time for my reservation but was told to wait at the bar. Boo…. good thing they have freaking Saison du Buff [Saison brewed with parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme. ] Tonight it didn’t taste of rosemary to me but high in thyme, YUM<3 Swoon! So the next 15 minutes of waiting was bearable.

Started off with some fresh EAST COAST oysters [of course]Fisher Island Oyster [NY] and Barcat Oyster [Virginia]

They were delicious. I also asked for some tabasco and fresh grated horseradish on the side. SO freaking good.

Hamachi, Quince, Crispy Prosciutto
Light with a nice salty crunch from the prosciutto and some sweetness from the quince… Quince needs to be showcased more as something other than garnish…. like at Quince tart at Colicchio + Sons Tap Room for Brunch.

Fluke, Lime Vinaigrette, RadishThis fluke was amazing. So delicate and just melted in my mouth. The garnishes didn’t overpower the fish at all.

Berkshire Pork Rillette, Morello Cherry

This was heavenly…. delicious richness of pork in a jar.  The cherries worked perfectly with the rich rillette and added an acidic and sweet element to it.  Plus nice chewy texture. I’m all about texture.

Beef Tongue, Horseradish Aïoli

Huge slices of beef tongue – very ham like. Couldn’t really taste the horseradish but no worries, it was delish…. definitely never had beef tongue in this fashion before… kinda reminds me of when I had it at Toro where it was more smokey and tender  – falling/melting apart, instead of the yummy grilled kBBQ type

Stuffed Rabbit Saddle, Pistachio, Golden Raisin Chutney

If you haven’t noticed, I’ve been having a love affair with rabbit lately, and I guess it’s rabbit season?!.. it’s EVERYWHERE. So so happy. I even made it [second time ever] the other day. Braised shredded rabbit with squash ravioli. Creamy, truffley and delicious. :] I think I forgot to take a picture of the final product tho. NEVERTHELESS. NONETHELESS?!?!?!… whatever. I am a bunny, and I’m a cannibal.

Remember this infamous picture from this post?

[Read more…]

Brunch at Resto – Only the Bestest

“I’m not used to seeing you when it’s light out” – Chef Bobby Hellen

I think I go to Resto more than any other restaurant while living here in the NYC. I LOVE it. LOVE it.  – In fact it was the FIRST place I ate at the day I moved here – other than Gray’s Papaya….

Come on, the slogan is “Bringing Fat Back…” not that it’s ever left. At least not me.  Not to mention it’s Chef Rick Gresh‘s fav place here in the city – ALSO their amazing Tete de Cochon sammies. AND Chef Bobby is a FUCKING genius. There, I said it, profanity and all – it’s out there in the world – he can turn into protein into PERFECTION – simple and delicious.

So as much as I keep seeing Bobby at Food Events [like Meatopia] and going to his beer/wine dinners… I still haven’t gone for his amazing brunch I’ve heard so much about.

Ah, yes, Brunch.

Got there a little late [stupid traffic] but it was SUPER busy so I sat at the bar downing yummy mimosas…. never too early to start drinking.

A few later, brunch date arrived and we got seated.

We started off with beignets. Cuz… why not, they’re freaking beignets.

cinnamon, sugar, chocolate sauce

These are SO freaking amazing. I could eat beignets until my legs and arms fall off and I’ll be eating them anyways.

[Read more…]