Toro.. the bull not the fish ;]

You know that feeling you get after eating really good food….. the afterwards… that depression? Well why let it get you down when you can continue it by eating more amazing food? The day after our O YA meal we decided that the only way we could finish off the weekend was by going to TORO.

We had brunch at Bullfinch’s and then headed off to the Museum of Science for an afternoon of Harry Potter madness.

LOVE. Harry. Potter.


More on my fb album :]

Hufflepuff is like the worst ever [hahahaha jk but seriously.. reminds us of jiggly puff]

ANYWAYS. After buying out the store there we decided that it was time for Toro. We hadn’t snacked all day [that NEVER happens] and we were starved… so we headed to the South End to look for this famous little tasty resto. They don’t take reservations so we were lucky we got there early enough that it wasn’t too busy yet. It was around 530 when we sat down.. by 6 it was packed.

As soon as we got there we ordered some sparkling water and a pitcher of their delicious red sangria. Great choice. LOVE sangria [good sangria].. I just wish, like I usually do, that it had large chunks of fruit in it…. [love Boqueria‘s sangria! nom! they even  have BEER sangria :D]

We then proceeded to order some cocktails on the side….


Caramelized Caipirinha
Agua Luca Cachaca, Muddled Caramelized Limes, Sugar


Cave Cocktail
Grapefruit Bitters, Sugar, Yellow Chartruese

HONESTLY? They were all right… I think I’ll just stick to their sangria from now on.. altho there still is a ton of other drinks I want to try off their menu…

ANYWAYS. ONwards with the food…


1/ Corazon a la Plancha
Grass-fed Beef Heart with Romesco

The beef was very tender, not tough at all, and thinly sliced. Full of flavor with a nice chew to it. It has a salty bite to it and was very delicious- cured meat like.


2/ Mollejas
Crispy Veal Sweetbread with Blood Orange and Cinnamon

I. LOVE. SWEETBREADS. I love these sweetbreads… tender, creamy, everything a sweetbread should be and more. And of course the blood orange and cinnamon were great compliments. It was so cute being on a cinnamon stick.


3/ Ventresca
Spanish Tuna Belly, Tomato Tapenade and Celery Leaves

Sadly. This tasted like tuna out of a can and put on a crostini. Not that it’s bad but just… not what we expected. :T


4/ Foie Gras con Chutney de Pera
Foie Gras with Pear and Bacon Chutney

We split this in half and R ate his half whole while I nibbled. Foie makes me so happy :] I eat way too much of it… but who cares.. this foie was creamy and delicious. Seared is the best way to go with this. The bacony flavor was very subtle and the crunch of the carbs was perfect.



5/ Uni Bocadillo
Pressed Uni Sandwich with Miso Butter and Pickled Mustard Seeds

I love uni. I love miso. I love mustard. and I love paninis/pressed sammys. Dood, can’t go wrong with this. Every bite was soooo decadent I felt so sinful slowly eating it and savoring every bite. I know uni is a very ‘either you love it or hate it’ food but if you come here you seriously need to take a bite.


6/ Boquerones
White Anchovies in Vinegar and Olive Oil

Why do people not like anchovies? So yum.


7/ Cachetes Piperade
Monkfish Cheek with Serrano Jamon and Peppers

Ok. Another complaint. Isn’t cheek really soft and pillowy? This was tough and seemed overcooked. Maybe I’m wrong and monkfish cheeks are tougher.. but still…. the flavors were really amazing just not too big on the texture.


8/ Ostras en Escabeche
Marinated Island Creek Oysters with Grains of Paradise, Lovage and Citrus

Oysters weren’t salty enough for me. And after O YA‘s amazing oysters, these weren’t as


9/ Pulpo
Braised Baby Octopus with Butterball Potatoes, Meyer Lemon and Piri Piri

You guys know by now that I adore octopus. These were cute little baby ones with uuber potatoes bursting with spices. Loved the tenderness.


10/ Lengua con Lentejas y Sala Verde
Smoked River Rock Beef Tongue with Lentils and Salsa Verde

I actually don’t eat that much smoked foods. And I’ve definitely never had smoked TONGUE before. Usually tongue has chew and a slightly tougher [at times] texture. But these LITERALLY melted in you mouth. INSANE :D


11/ Codorniz en Escabeche
Grilled Vermont Quail with Brown Butter, Sherry Vinegar and Cippolini Onions

The last time I had amazing quail was at Tamarind Bay in Harvard Sq and it was tandoori and effing great. This was just as tasty. Sigh. I love quail.


12/ Pato con Membrillo
Smoked Duck Drumettes with Quince Glaze

This was one of my favorites of the night. The duck fell right off the bone. Not overwhelming with smoked flavor and the skin was sooooooo delicious. Not to fatty, sooo full of deliciousness, a bit sweet and a sprinkling of sesame seeds for crunch.


13/ Vientre de Cerdo
Crispy Pork Belly with Pumpkin, Escargots, Liberty Apples and Smoked Maple Crumb

You can never go wrong with pork belly.


14/ Ensalada del Invierno
Salad of Sunchokes, Acorn Squash, Apples, Frisee and Hazelnuts

We needed some greens. R let me eat most of this. Love the freshness and crunch, just wish it was… greener… and there was more to it.


15/ Atun Pincho
Tuna Tartare with Coconut Milk and Lime

Interesting. Wasn’t too big of a fan, i think the foam and the lime masked the tuna too much.


16/ Callos de Collinsville
Honey Comb Tripe with Tomato and Peppers

MMMM, soooooooooooooooo TENDER. Never had tripe like this before. Cut in small cubes.. there was SOOO much of this, so be prepared to eat a lot [portion sizes vary so much with dishes here depending on what you get…]


17/ Coca de Pato
Grilled Catalan Style Flatbread with Duck Confit, Cauliflower, Golden Raisins and Manchego

OMGOMGOGMOGMOGMOGMGOMGG. So good. I loooooove flatbread [like Sel de la Terre’s]


18/ Costilla de Buey
Rioja Braised Short Rib of Beef with Armagnac Soaked Prunes and Pommes Puree

MMMMM. Melt in your mouth goodness. & mmmm… prunes… lol


19/ Coles de Bruselas a la Plancha
Brussels Sprouts with Olive Oil and Sea Salt

I’m obsessed with brussel sprouts. Loved these.



20/ Asado de Huesos
Roasted Bone Marrow with Radish Citrus Salad and Oxtail Marmalade

Bone Marrow. My “I can die happy after eating this” food. SO. GOOD.  Next time I think I need to order TWO more for myself.


21/ Churros con Chocolate
Airy Crisp Fried Pastry with Chili Infused Chocolate

Loves <3 I’m a huge churro lover and these make me oh so happy….

Where’s your fav place to get tapas? What’s your favorite tapas dish? I always have to get duck on the menus…. anything crazy different… and of course classics that I love.

Comments

  1. Hi! I love reading your blogs and I know that you are a very very big foodie!
    I’ve been trying to find a good restaurant to try out in New York City.
    Can you give me some recommendations for a good steakhouse?
    Nothing too over the edge. Price range of $100~150 for two.
    I’d really appreciate it. Thanks!!

    Like

  2. Jackie (boston foody!) says:

    You didn’t try Ken Oringer’s famous corn!!!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. […] every week or two for the rest of my life and be sooo sooo happy. I know I wrote about this place pretty recent… but I had a craving for them the other night so made R go with me as soon as he set foot […]

    Like

  2. […] definitely never had beef tongue in this fashion before… kinda reminds me of when I had it at Toro where it was more smokey and tender  – falling/melting apart, instead of the yummy grilled kBBQ […]

    Like

  3. […] I prefer a bit chew, not too soft, thinner cut… and I’m not AS big of a fan of the honeycomb ones… but nonetheless it’s yummy.  These were perfect – a slight crunch and […]

    Like

  4. […] into town. It’s time for Brunch AND AT Toro!!!! Now you guys know that I eat there all the time but I’ve never been there for brunch… why?!…I have no […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

