Brunch Fail at Bar Americain

Dear Bobby Flay… your food is always so full of flavor and wham bam kabam…. so why was your food so bland? Sigh. After narrowing down a list of brunch places I chose Bar Americain. I’ve had brunch at Mesa Grill before and it was pretty good so – being in the mood for some tex-mex and some chicken pot pie [it’s on the menu!!!] off to Bar Americain I went….

It started off quite well.. the restaurant was FREEZING but I got a nice seat by the raw bar :] YUM. But this morning I wasn’t in the mood for oysters [for once]

Pickle Mary

Stoli Vodka, Tomato Juice, Fresh Lemon Juice, Horseradish, Tomatillo Hot Sauce, Pickled Relish

Bloody Mary

Stoli Vodka, Tomato Juice, Fresh Lemon Juice, Horseradish, Tomatillo Hot Sauce

I’m in LOVE with their Bloody Marys….. Bobby needs to put them into juice boxes for adults :]

I always love Bobby’s Corn Bread…

And these Corn Bread Lady Fingers did NOT disappoint :D

I told you I was drinking them Bloody Marys down like juice boxes….

New England Clam and Sweet Potato Chowder

Aren’t you curious what it’s gonna look like? I’m thinking clam chowder with sweet potato chunks instead of potato and filled with delicious clams. Thick and creamy…. but alas….. NO…


There was ONE clam in it NONE in the soup… It wasn’t chunky [REAL clam chowder, you should be able to stand your spoon up in it] TOTALLY not what I expected. It wasn’t BAD but it just wasn’t clam chowder.

Spicy Tuna Tartar with Classic Garnishes

A little too salty and overspiced. It totally covered the tuna but the soup was blah and I was hungry…. It should’ve come with toast points or something to balance the salt out.

Extra Thick Bacon
This was the one perfect item ordered. Bacon. It didn’t look thick but it was delicious. Smokey, perfectly cooked. YUM.

Red Snapper, Cabbage Slaw, Salsas, Flour Tortillas


NO flavor at ALL in the fish and the salsas didn’t help either. There was NO acid so I actually asked for limes and it didn’t help. It was a sad sad day, I picked at the fish and went on to the chicken pot pie.

Smoked Chicken Pot Pie, Sweet Potato Biscuit Crust


Black Pepper was added…. a LOT and there was just something off about it. Sure it was creamy and had chicken but there was NO flavor. I had NO idea what I was eating.

Bland and depressing. I barely touched my food and just left in a food depression….. [and slightly drunk cuz I had about 3-4 more Bloody Marys] – so that night I went to Toloache and had a better Mexican experience…. I’ll write about that probably in a few minutes :D

Comments

  1. Oh Man- These guys speak my language!

    Greg
    http://www.mybigfatbloodymary.com/Bloody-Mary-Legend.html

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by stolichnaya, stolichnaya. stolichnaya said: check it out Brunch Fail at Bar Americain « m i s s t i f f i e . n e t: Pickle Mary Stoli Vodka, Tomato Juice, … http://bit.ly/cDwEXH […]

    Like

  2. […] Nov After a depressing brunch, I needed to have a redeeming mexican meal. I’ve been planning to go to Toloache for ages and […]

    Like

  3. […] the pot pie fail at Bar Americain, I HAD to get this one. PLUS, it’s RABBIT. And yes, I’m obsessed with rabbit… […]

    Like

Leave a comment