Toro, you never let me down.

After an awesome time looking at the Chef Ferran Adrià exhibit and a few other food and fun exhibits at the museum, R and I headed straight to Toro. Despite it being barely 6, it was already a 2-2.5 hour wait… luckily we got two seats at the bar within a few minutes. YAY.

A few glasses of Champagne, nibbled on some Shishito Peppers and we’re ready to chow… R hasn’t had the chance to eat many different foods but he was totally up to try anything I put in front of him… so I ordered for him – I made him cover his ears and the feast begins…

We stated off with the beautiful Iberico Jamon….

MELT IN MY MOUTH YUM!!!… R doesn’t like ham but I convinced him he’d like this – and he did!!! Ugh, I could eat this stuff every day.

Sadly Chef Jamie Biss wasn’t around but he was sweet enough to have them send out a Lardo Crostini dish…. absolutely delicious!!!!

We both absolutely ADORED this!!!!… Lardo makes everything better!!!

This was another surprise for R, Smoked Beef Tongue over Lentils

It was so tender and delicious.  I didn’t tell him it was tongue until he ate it and liked it.  Beef tongue is one of my favorite parts of a cow, especially at Korean BBQ

I forgot to take a picture of the Uni Bocadillo…  R has never had Uni before but he went in for the kill and actually ate his WHOLE half!!!! It was a great way to introduce him to uni :] I’m sure the crispy bread and the buttery miso butter just makes it oh so perfection.  Haha we’ll save sushi for later.

Also not pictured was the Veal Sweetbreads…. which had a nice black bean sauce taste and a touch of crunch from peanuts… it was on the sweet side but the sweetbread was sooooo tender and creamy.  R thought it was just “veal” and irked a bit when he realized what a sweetbread was – but took it like a man. Haha…

Next up was the beloved Bone Marrow!!!

He didn’t really like it, especially hearing that it was bone marrow so i got to eat pretty much all of it. Hahaha.. I don’t mind at all ;]

Foie Gras and Piquillo Peppers on a stick NOM!!!!

He liked it, but freaked a bit when he found out it was Foie Gras.  Glad to have been able to open his palate up to new flavors and textures.  We ended the night with, of course, their famous Grilled Corn with Aioli and Cheese… SOOOOO goooooood!!!!!

I had such a fun night – we had a few drinks at a Piano Bar near my house before he dropped me off and we parted ways.  And I came home to this surprise from my Woo Bear!!!!! <3 Bestie!!!!

He got it for me while in Cali, the trip I had to cancel last minute on, so happy he thought of me :]  Such a great night.

Comments

  1. grace says:

    lovey, i STILL think about the jamon and corn from the last year when we ate there… CANNOT WAIT! T-10 <3

    Like

  2. we should go again =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

