Proof that PROOF in DC is worth visiting…

See, same outfit, different meal :] Don’t worry its the same day too…..

Off to visit Brenttttttt, he’s the new Exec Sous at Proof!!!

Starting the meal off with some bubbly is always a plus!!! YAY for W knowing the head Somm.

HAAA!!! Caught him on camera before he could cover his cute nose. I officially adore him in pink!

Flatbread Crisps with this Yogurt Chives Sauce that just reminded me of Sour Cream & Onion.  AMAZE BALLS.  Creamy delight.  I couldn’t help myself and kept inhaling… can I get the dipping sauce to go?!

We also got a bottle of red, if I remember correctly from Oregon?!  I trusted the somm and it was delicious.  Forgot to take a pic tho.. you might catch a glimpse in a photo or two of the glass or the bottle.. maybe..

Ahi Tuna Tartare with Crispy Nori Tempura
hass avocado, wasabi soy emulsion

W claimed this was his favorite tuna tartare EVER.  And FUCK YEAH it’s freaking good.  Fresh chunks of avocado surround tuna mounds seperated by crispy fried seaweed, which were not greasy in the least.  Flavors and freshness to the max without weighing you down. DEEEELISH!

Baby Tomato Salad with Torn Basil & House Made Mozzarella
red onion, arugula, extra virgin olive oil

So fresh and freaking amazing.  You know what makes me super happy and reminds me of summer?!…Ceviches, margaritas and fresh heirloom tomatoes&fresh mozzarella w/ basil salads. SO SO happy!!! My dad only eats cheese on pizza and he’ll eat this. So amazing.  I eat tons of tomatoes… and balls of fresh mozz on a weekly basis during the summer – no wonder I can’t lose no damn weight. JOY!  Any additional greens, onions is just a plus.. OH and of course, delicious fruity fresh EVOO is a must… and a sprinkling of fresh cracked black pepper.

Popcorn Veal Sweetbreads
with Spanish Fried Egg & Poached Veal Tongue frisée, arugula, citrus, olive oil

Sadly it wasn’t as good as I thought.  The sweetbreads were delicious and prepared amazingly but they were cut too small for my liking.. so it was more fried than sweetbreads in each bite.. the veal tongue, I actually like seared more than poached.  The tongue was a bit too bland for me, but super tender.  LOVED the egg and the greens though. Super runny.. just wanted bigger creamy portions to balance out the fried crunch of sweetbreads.  I’m telling you – SEAR YOUR TONGUE, you’ll never go back to poaching!

This dish was my fault, I’m an ass. Hahahaha this was my MUST HAVE on the menu aside from the other stuff that W was planning to order from us.  OOPS.  I just can’t help it. I see sweetbreads and giggle.  Just like me with pork belly, foie and….. well I guess way too may things. FAT.

Oh darn, W hiding his cute face again.. per usual. At least we get a nice view of his awesome tatts.

ANNNND THEN…….

*Surprise* Pork Duo a la Brent

Crispy Porchetta Cured Pork Belly
grilled summer squash, lemon cucumbers, crème fraiche, capers [on the menu] and some Milk Braised Pork with Fennel from the Special Tasting Menu
BOTH were delicious.  Obviously pork belly triumphed because, well DUH, fatty!  But I loooovoed the fennel with the milk braised pork :D I need to try a milk or cream braise at home soon!  Both tender.  Amazing flavors and super fresh, perfectly cooked veggies to accompany.

Honey & Spice Glazed Pekin Duck Breast
roasted yam puree, pomegranate emulsion, grilled scallion

Cooked to perfection and delicious, atop yummmy sweet creamy yams.  I love a good medium rare duck. YUM. SO SO tender…. melted in my mouth and just YUM.  I love a good duck.

Speaking of duck, do you ever get a super gamey gross duck? I think that means the duck goes bad? Cuz I love the taste of duck, duck fat, DUCK SKIN. OMG I’m hungry and I have some leftover duck in the fridge.

SIDENOTE:  I wish I wrote more professional sounding blogs.  I read a ton of other ones that I envy but then I’m such a say what I feel and what goes thru my brain kind of person everything just comes out like brain vomit.  OOPS.  Sorry.  But I’m not sorry. HAHA.

Pan Roasted Wild Striped Bass
sweet corn, zucchini, wild mushrooms, sea peas, sun gold tomato emulsion

This was gonna be my choice if W didn’t help me order. HAHA. He knows me too well and we eat so similarly, except he’s pickier than me.  THIS WAS SO GOOD.  Tender, juicy, flakey beautiful fish atop a plethora of fresh chunks of delicious veggies. MMM CORN POOP. Joy to having Wild  MUSHHHHROOOOMS… The sauce was a bit too saucy/salty but I’m weird like that, I steam or boil most everything at home HAHA – lamz0rs. But that’s probably why I bloat so easily. Whatevz, I stuffed myself silly. YUM.

STUFFED as all hell as we were, we had room for dessert!  Obviously!  I even told our waiter, I have a separate stomach for desserts, NOM.

W got the Warm Peach & Blueberry Cobbler, black raspberry ice cream

And true to his form, he forgot to share til the second and last bite.  But I KNOW he LOOOOVES cobbler so I didn’t mind.. besides, my choice was SOOOO FUCKING, yes FUCKING, amaze balls.

Sticky Toffee Pudding Cake, vanilla ice cream, almonds, toffee

PER. FUCKING. FECT. TION.

ike Stick Toffee Pudding Cake BUT BETTER.  A nice crust, a beautiful sweet creamy caramel.  I want to bathe in this.

A beautiful dinner, glad I finally got to eat the magic of Brent :] YUM.

Trackbacks

  1. […] and I finally met up with Brent, aside from seeing him for a brief second at Proof.  After the longest avoidance, laziness and procrastination we FINALLY decided on Mandu [K street […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

