Leaving Detroit with a Bang… or more like a Burger…

You’ve heard about my delicious conquests in Detroit.  But let’s get down to the real point, I’ve been eating out for 10+ days and it’s taking a toll on me.  I’ve been trying to be healthy and eating most salads for lunch and yogurt/cereal or oatmeal for breakfast but there has been a lot of snacking between – a lot of sodium , and yes, free concierge level = LOTS of free snacking, cheese, desserts, chips, etc….   by the end of the week I had gained about 6lbs… and it’s been almost a week after and I’ve only lost half of that. Haha.  Need to get in shape for Miami next weekend….

I got a nice fruit plate by the pool while W went to the barbershop to get a haircut.  He had a freaking afro – awesome, but I guess only awesome for me haha he hated it.  We relaxed and lounged the whole day…. dinner was BURGER!  Why?

I needed to be apart of this Bourbon Steak burger month!  And while I’m insanely jealous looking at Chef Adam Sobel’s burgers for the one in DC [like this pastrami and double double OMG]….. the one they were offering her in Detroit this week was a SPICY one, which OBVIOUSLY caught my eye.

Cornbread with a Maple Bourbon Butter

W has had their cornbread and butter so much he wouldn’t even touch it haha.. but I had a nice corner piece smooooothered in butter. MMMM butter makes everything better!

Trio of Duck Fat Fries

Rosemary w/ Ketchup, SourCream&Onion and Paprika [?]with BBQ

The last ones were my favorite.  I eat rosemary frites way too much.  They were also cold, the others weren’t.  Weird huh?  And I thought whilst eating these fries, so many places have duck fat fries now… they’re not so fun and I can’t really tell the difference anymore.  Time to start frying fries in bacon grease. YOU HEARD IT HERE FIRST! MY IDEA!

Dinner is SERVED!

W’s steak! :]  He was busy watching the Caps-Rangers Hockey Game

W’s Mashed Potatoes – there was a lot of goodies in it.. MMM

My Fire Alarm Beef Burger
Pepper Jack, Jalapenos, Harrisa Aioli, Grilled Onions

Innards

I got it rare, obviously and it was SUPER raw. Haha, it wasn’t too bad, it wasn’t completely balanced in flavor tho… some bites were better than others.  There were a few bites that tasted… gamey? I duno maybe the beef wasn’t that fresh? I love raw beef but some bites were meh and I had huge chunks of cracked peppercorn, one got stuck in my teef.  I wanted more bang for my buck – more spice :[ Kinda disappointed.  No need for a fire alarm…. I did like the fluffy bun tho.  Buns are VERY important in making a good burger but the meat is the most important and it just didn’t cut it for me.  I didn’t want to make a big deal out of it so I stuck to fries, my delicious glass of Rioja and politely ate half and took the rest back to the room.

I got really hungry later…… and while usually I’d inhale burgers and leftovers like crazy….

I did that to a bag of buttery popcorn instead :]

I left the next morning….

A nice cold Blue Moon with orange slice..

Breakfast of champions

And then this for the airplane ride :] I finally got my banana for my horrible foot cramps!!!

And as soon as I got home I ordered me some sushiiiiiii and sashimi from Fugakyu Cafe <3 WOOOOO – been craving like WHOA

Leave a Reply

