So glad the weekend started off with a great meal at Bourbon Steak

Before I begin let me explain the post title. I spent most of the weekend sick in bed.  I was well taken care of thanks to W :] But still, sick in bed, in fact the only thing that stayed in my stomach all of Saturday was some liquids and a Peachie-O, yes SINGULAR, A Peachie-O!

\As soon as I was picked up we headed to The Italian Store for a yummy sub… or three.  The last time I was here they made me so so happy so I wanted another :] W remembered.. teehee… so 3 Capris [prosciutto, genoa salami, provolone cheese and spiced capacola ham] please.  Mine with extra mustard, no mayo, onions and extra hot peppers :D  Good thing I whined to go get a burger at Bourbon Steak FIRST, before eating the subs, because later that night and the next day, W and I got food poisoning from it. Yep, I spent Saturday puking my brains out and only got to visit the Portrait Gallery for a few minutes… I spent more time in the bathrooms…. BUTTTTT at least I started off the trip/weekend with a deliiiiiicious happy happy joy joy meal!!!

Bourbon Steak is located in the Four Seasons hotel in a cute area full of stores and restaurants.. bustling with peoples.. I’d totally wanna stay here if I had to choose a hotel…

So we came in just for a burger.  W used to work here so everyone knew and loved him.  We sat at the bar and I tried the “Winter Flower” – obviously a champagne cocktail – house spiced grenadine, prosecco, lemon twist

It was delish! That’s why I took a picture of it halfway thru and I had another one after :D teehee…..

WELL. We CAME for just a burger… but since W and Exec Chef Adam Sobel are such good buddies [and worked together here], we got the royal treatment and got a plethora of yummy delights :] I am DEFINITELY NOT complaining!!!!

First up?

FRIIIIIIIIIIIIIESSS.. their menu says Trio of Duck Fat Fries… I’m stupid, were they? Can I just say they were fries of deliciousness?!

L-R
Cheddar Fries w/ BBQ Sauce… UMMMM… okay I forgot the middle spiced fries, they were amazing and were with Thousand Island dressing and the end were… regular fries with Ketchup? I fail at remembering food, especially with alcohol involved but trust me when I say THEY WERE FRIES OF THE BOMB DIGGITINESS… #weakness

Crispity crunchity, skinny potato-y heaven!!! I loved the middle ones the most… great spices, but I’m a ‘tard and can’t remember what they were :[ SIGHHHHH… delicious nonetheless.. and THOUSAND ISLAND!!!! So asian.. I miss Kelly.

Fluke Sashimi

grapefruit terrine, hearts of palm, soy liquid gel

Super fresh and you eat it with this yummy crisp.. crab crisp? Not sure… delicious tho, NOM! Bad memory on descriptions.. but I always remember if something was good or not hahahaha….

And then we got to try the highly anticipated [thanks to this tweet:]

MMMMMMM Pork Belly

It’s the picture, but in REAL LIFE!!!!!

This was amazing and had this little rice sushi thing, radishes, happiness…. all sorts of flavors and textures and of course creamy fatty pork belly with a perfect crisp chewy skin…. OH MY LORDY. Can I have a dozen please?! I’d just pop these in my mouth like bon bons…

We even got two sets of wine pairings.. a white and a red, both Italian, both delicious.. here was the white…

We DEVOURED the food.. so what next? Next round of food time!!!

And then came the finished product of this:

Freaking Lambchetta look at all those sexy pistchios

Chef Adam pouring on the sauce… hahaha ninja photo

I’m not a huge lamb person, as you know but lately I’ve been eating some pretty darn good lamb. This was really good, super tender and juicy, full of flavor… it was with potatoes and artichokes, SOOO GOOD :]

We got a yummy red wine with these…

These were included….

SURPRISE!!!

PORK CUPCAKES!!!!

What? WHAT?! Ya’ll know my obsession with cupcakes – SAVORY cupcakes?! OMG heaven. Cuz even tho I LOVE cupcakes, I rarely eat them.. these, i could eat every freaking day – I’m such a fat girl at heart.

BTW….. Wanna see a naked picture of me?

*******************************************************
****************************************************
*************************************************
*******************************************
************************************
**************************
**********************
*******************
****************
************
********
****
**
**
**
**
**
**
**
**

**

**

**

**

**

Don’t worry it’s SFW

 It’s ME AS A CUPCAKE!!!!!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH I’m 5.

Back to the food…

BBQ Pulled Pork Cupcakes.. to be exact

cheddar scallion biscuit, smoked pork shoulder

HOLY CRAPPOLAAAAA

First of all I was alredynibbling on the outside… I LOOOOOOOOOVE cheddar biscuits and these were SOOOO GOOD and cheesy and buttery and FULL OF FLAVOR…I didn’t think they could get ANY better… but then I had the pork inside. PIGGILICIOUS HAPPINESS

BURRRRRRRRRRGER

Containing: Delicious burgerness… between yummy buns and topped with a pickleeeee and a banana pepper NOM

Squish squish, I kinda just stared at it, took a million pics, picked it up, squished it as it was juicing out and took a few more pics before biting in…

I am SO sexy when I eat. HAHAHA I was like “How am I supposed to eat this?” and I was told to squish it down lol – YAY MORE SQUISHING

[btw first attempt at stuffing my face failed, so I unhinged my jaw and inhaled]

This is almost as sexy as my crazy bone gnawing pics that I like to take LOL

And then it was dessert time!!! WOOOOO

Macallan 18 Butterscotch Pot de Creme
pain d’epices, butterscotch caramel, pepitas

Creammyyyyy happiness. I’m such a texture whore and while this was UUUUBER creamy it had all the other elements of amazing-ness that just made me super happy.  Trying to remember what that fruity tart element was… I remember asking W too while I was chewing it. OK, brain fart. I’m getting old :[  I need to start bringing a notebook and writing notes when I go out to eat. OMG I’m turning into my mom.

Crunchy Profiteroles

salty caramel ice cream, nutella, hazelnuts

These were super yummy…. how can you NOT love nutella and salty caramel AND hazelnuts?!  Such the ULTIMATE ice cream sandwich.  As soon as you bite into it the ice cream pops out.. WHICH I learned from watching L eat the first one HAHAHAHAH… so i was careful and nibbled slowly hahahahahah still oozey, but no gushing…

Brown Sugar Bananas

banana cake, peanut ganache, fried captain crunch ice cream

You can’t go wrong with these things… apart of together. OMG.. what are the little gelees? I remember eating them and being happy. I like jelly like things – DUH…. and that is captain crunch around that fried ice cream. OH I LOVE anything peanut butter and banana.. and of course together… MMMMMM – once again, AMAZING textures!!!!

I remember being asked:”Do you like Fried Ice Cream?” YESSS… “Do you like Captain Crunch?” YESSSSS…. SO yes I liked this :]

Happy Ending to a GREAT happy meal

But sadly I was hungry again a mere few hours later.. so out came the sub… and the rest is just sadness…

….until late late late LATE Sunday Funday Brunchday……. which I’ll post about next HEE HEE BUT yeah stomach is still not a happy camper and it’s been a few days but def not piking anymore, PHEW

Trackbacks

  1. […] food poisoning and being sick and basically staying in for most of the weekend.. BUTTTTTT…. a great start at Bourbon Steak and a great end :]  And, as always, a good time with W :] Rate this: Like this:LikeBe the first […]

    Like

  2. […] for a meaty, slightly savory, dessert. MMMMMMMMM, I love my piggie, this just totally one-upped the pork cupcakes – which was also amazing, but def not desserty like […]

    Like

  3. […] was hungry.  So W and I snuck out of the apt to go get some food at Bourbon Steak.  I haven’t been to the DC one since my second trip to DC earlier in the year…. We grabbed a seat at the bar, our usual go to spot at any resto, and ate;  W caught up with a ton […]

    Like

  4. […] a bit of work done we headed into Georgetown for the new iPhone 5 and at FIRST we were gonna go to Bourbon Steak for a burger, but BBQ caught our eyes… and bellies.  Old Glory BBQ it […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

