Thai Town Cuisine 瓦城泰國料理 in Taichung

Today is a fun filled day of the ladies of the 范 Ladies in Taichung. All but one of my aunts -mom’s sisters – live in Taichung so it was off to Taichung to eat and play with my aunts and favorite cousin :] BUT the night before I somehow ate something bad or touched something – methinks it was the late nite street food of braised chicken feet, seaweed, taiwanese sausage, squid ink taiwanese sausage and mala beef jerky that might’ve set it off [boo!] but nonetheless, itchy and in pain off I went…

On the HSR and eating sour gummies daddy bought me from Taipei 101 :] It even came in a cute cherry bag! Yay!

Also bought some Japanese seaweed/rice cracker snacks and Potato Spicky.. which is like savory pocky :]

As soon as we got there, right before noon, we were picked up by my auntie and brought to Thai Town Cuisine. My mom and I had NO idea what we were getting ourselves into. My aunt, my mom and I and a ton of my aunt’s friends and their daughters. Oh me oh my, we ate a lot and got double servings [which came in separate dishes and was spaced out] for many dishes so no detailed pics but I’ll highlight some yummies…

Basic Highlights of our menu:
Spicy Cumin Beef in Coconut Sauce 椰汁炒牛肉
Spicy Beef Stir-fry 辣炒牛肉
Thai Seafood Salad 海鮮什蔬沙律
Pork Scalp with Spicy Thai Herbs 大薄片沙律
Original Shrimp Pancake 原味月亮
King Prawn Vermicelli Pot 冬粉明蝦煲
Curry Crab 咖哩紅蟳
String Beans with Shrimp Paste 蝦醬四季豆
Steamed Seabass in Lemon Sauce 檸檬清蒸魚
Fried Chicken Leg with Spicy Pepper Sauce 風味椒麻雞
Green Curry Chicken in Coconut Sauce 綠咖哩椰汁雞
Thai Fried Rice Noodle (Pad Thai) 泰式炒河粉
Corn Soup with Crab Meat 蟹肉玉米湯
Spicy & Sour Shrimp Soup (Tom Yom Kum) 酸辣蝦湯

& for drinks we all got
Thai Ice Milk Tea 泰國冰奶茶  & Mango Juice 芒果汁

A had a taste of everything… and then some… LOOVED the spicy minced beef stirfry [even tho I SWEAR it’s TOTALLY chicken they still insist it’s beef, even on the website.. grr] and seafood salad… the pork scalp, basically super fatty pork, cold and sliced super thin with raw onions and lots of spice was great and crunchity :]

Yummyyyy!!

The crab was fried and then doused with a delicious curry :]  The green beans were tender and had such great shrimpy flavor to them!

Fried Chicken Leg and Cabbage Slaw was tasty!!!

The Tom Yum Soup 酸辣蝦湯 was spicy and plentiful of shrimp and veggies! YUM!

After all this we went thru a few huge pots of white rice LOL.

I only thing I didn’t try was the crab/corn chowder which I can already imagine how it tastes. Everything was fresh and super tasty, unfortunately all the shellfish made my hives even worse :[ — by the way I also ADORED the green curry chicken with sliced green beans, thinly.. they looked like mini jalapeno slices but were green beans, YUM! — By the end of this meal as I was eating practically half of the seabass [SO good and FULL of delicious lemongrass flavor, light but FULL OF FLAVOR!] my hives tripled at least and grew bigger, redder and itchier..OOPS…

But still, desserts first!

芋香黑糯米 (熱) Black Sticky Rice with Taro in Coconut Milk (Hot)

SOOOO GOOD! The sticky rice was griainy yet still chewy and QQ and the taro chunks were fab. After awhile the soup turned into a beautiful purple red color from the rice.

摩摩喳喳 (熱) Exotic Asian Fruits Combo in Coconut Milk (Hot)

“Rubyfruit”, Jackfruit, Palm Seeds, Taro, Boba, Lychee, etc…

I’ve never had warm fruits in a coconut soup so this was SOOO GOOD.. whatever this “rubyfruit” was it was huge and red and crunchy and SO GOOD. POP POP.  LOVE Palm Seeds and used to eat them by the can and of course jackfruit <3 ANDDDDD.. ever had a WARM/HOT lychee?! I have now. YUM!

Now off to Tea Time at 明森…

Trackbacks

  1. […] after lunch, we headed to 明森 for Tea Time.. yep after a 2.5 – 3 hour lunch we then went straight to […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

