Small Cheap DELICIOUS Eats All Day Long: 小南門 點心世界 & Agnes b. Cafe Revisited

I got my “cupcake” skirt on and headed out into the, now, chillier weather for a quick bite and shopping and exploring

I’ve been craving somse REAL Taiwanese Potstickers so off to 小南門 – 點心世界 at Breeze Center I went

Difference between what you call a potsticker and a Taiwanese one?! Well first.. the size/shape and the way they’re made…

“…the Taiwanese potsticker is an elongated wrapper that houses a thin strip of filling, most commonly pork with cabbage, but other varieties do exist (curry, kimchi, shrimp/pork, crab/pork are the others I’ve seen), that gets pinched in the middle, but not at the ends. They’re basically like mini burritos that are open at the ends. Unlike traditional wontons which get boiled first, these go straight into a covered wok with a slight amount of water and a fair bit of oil, coming out with charring only on the flat bottom side. As a result, you end up with a string of potstickers that are conjoined in rows of fried dumpling perfection….” [Source]

Seriously.. once you’ve had one of these you’ll forever say no to takeout potstickers.. well, maybe – But I still prefer homemade ones, my mom makes delicious ones BUTTTTTTT…. I love Taiwanese ones the most.


Regular potstickers = Still tasty [Source]

Okay back to the main point… we got a nice seat in the back of the restaurant… it was already 1:30/2ish so it wasn’t as packed… it was the same seat I sat in the last time I was here

Some mini dishes while we wait for our order of potstickers and soup

One of my favorite veg dishes to eat in Taiwan..

龍鬚菜 Gracilaria Lemaneiformis [thanks to MyInnerFatty & Jackson for helping me out on this one]

It’s sort of like an algae?! But then I thought it was a fern.. STILL CONFUSED… and “Zemanta” isn’t helping :P.. and strangely in chinese translation according to google it’s like an asapargus?! But literally translated into long dragon’s beard or whiskers or something like that. Whatevz. DELICIOUS!  The flavor reminds me of fiddleheads in a weird way but I guess it’s an algae?! Awkward… google told me they find red ones grown in ppl’s freaking fish tanks HAHA… they just end up in my belly ;D

Braised Bamboo with Scallions & Chili Peppers

A bit oily but bamboo is really good for soaking up that oil and helping you poop it out :] Yep, I said it here on my food blog. POOP.  Bamboo is great :] I love it and like I’ve said, it’s always made super fresh here in Taiwan.

Bitter Greens & Enoki

My mom makes this bitter green really good with tofu and lots of chili peppers… I think it’s a mustard green but I have to double check with chinese to english translations.. this one was kind of weird tasting to me… it tasted a bit like cleaning solution, maybe it was just super bitter and since it was just blanched and not spicy it was different from what I’m used to.

Mini Anchovies and Fried Tofu Strips with Hot Chilis

Yep! One of my favorite cold side dishes to eat! You’ve seen it many times on this blog already.

Sweetened White Bitter Melon

Another familiar dish that needs no explaining on here!  But white bitter melon needs to be grown or imported into the States now! Same with that….fern/algae veg I love hahahaha…

Pig’s Blood Cakes [豬血糕] with Peanut Powder

Haven’t had this in awhile, I usually just have it at night markets and on a stick.  But it’s my favorite form of pig’s blood.. I prefer my pure blood cakes to be goose or duck… this is mixed with rice and steamed and lots of peanut powder on it makes it even more yummy!

Sauteed A-Cai

A bit too greasy and salty but STILL SOOOO GOOOOOOOD!!!

Their famous Taiwanese Potstickers!!!

I have to admit, while the skin is crispy to perfection and the filling is SOOO good… the filling was lacking.. in amount.  There used to be so much more. Damn recession. I’d rather pay more $$ for the real deal than half assed filled dumplings :[ POUT.

Baby Clam Soup

Lots of ginger, a light sprinkling of scallions and lots of baby clams.  Since clams are already salty you don’t need any seasoning. This is how I make clam soup at home, just water, clams and ginger. YUM!

Can you believe all of that food was only for a few bucks?!?!?! That’s what I love about Taiwan, some of the most delicious foods I’ve eaten here is simple and complex in flavors all at the same time and soooo easy on the wallet – and you wonder why I eat so much of it :] Fourths please!!!

After shopping around Breeze Center we stopped by Agnes b. Cafe for a breather…

Chloe

Hazelnut, Chocolate, Feuilletine, Sponge Cake

Sadly this tasted like it was in the fridge for too long. :[

Marion

Nougatine, Caramel Custard, Puff Pastry

Crispity crunchy sooo good and not too sweet :] LOVE it.. the top was crunchier with a nice sugar coating and a chocolate and the bottom was just plain puff which was fluffy.

Dinner was 3 of us at the food court. Yep, THREE of us, ALL this food only for less than 20$ !!! Just look below and have your jaw drop and drool come out. ALL THIS FOOD FOR ALMOST NOTHING!!! YUM!

三杯鸡 [Literally, 3 Cup Chicken] with Soup and 3 Side Dishes

3 Cup Chicken [三杯鸡)

Why 3 cup chicken? 1 cup of soy sauce, 1 cup of sesame oil and 1 cup chinese rice wine :] YUM!

Vegetarian Mushroom Hot Pot Meal w/ Side Dishes

I ordered the seafood hot pot but they accidentally gave me the vegetarian mushroom one…

Vegetarian Mushroom Hot Pot

Tons of various mushrooms, and mostly nice big and meaty oyster mushrooms.

I realized this after I tasted NO seafood and could only find veg and TONS of mushrooms in it. Not complaining but just wanted a refund since the seafood pot costed more… BUT they apologized and the lady gave me a FREE seafood hot pot. Yeah so I ate both. #fattie

Seafood Hot Pot

Full of shrimp, squid, tofu, veggies and of course, more mushrooms. YUM. Very light broth.. ohh and there were some thin slices of beef sirloin in it as well :]

Oyster pancakes, beef ball soup and veggies

Fried Tofu

You’ve already seen these dishes…

After some shopping at SOGO I ate two bowls of red bean soup with dried longan and lots of mochi black seasame balls [黑芝麻湯圓].

Chanel Tree?!?! My dream come true!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] The Chive pie had good filling but they were not bulging with filling and I think since they were the last batch of the day, the crust was getting a bit soggy in the steamer…  the Shrimp Dumplings were good but the skin was a bit too thick for me and they were pan-fried not just thin-skinned and steamed like I’m used to.  Taiwan dumplings were good, but they were small and more like gyoza than Taiwanese dumplings… […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

