Sel de la Terre: Wine Tuesday “Summer Sippers”

It’s that time of the week again :] Every Tuesday night, chances are you’ll find me at my usual corner booth table in the Natick Sel de la Terre – calling all stalkers [apparently I should stop joking about this because it does happen.. so if you’re creepy I WILL eat your arm!]

BREAAAAAAD… the usual, french baguette, foccacia and whole grain

Yes after the millionth meal at SDLT I’m still taking pictures of the bread basket… because I can! It’s myyyy blog, I DOOO WHAT I WANT!!! ;D

Cartman is my hero <3  — currently watching Southpark while I blog :]

First Course
Tuna Crudo, Melon, Radishes, Lemon Emulsion
Paired with: 2010 Huber, “Obere Steigen”, Grüner Veltiner, Traisental, Austria

This wine was delish… I’ve been such a red wine obsessed girl for the past few years that I’ve forgotten how yummy a good white wine is :] Thank goodness for wine pairings!!!! I rarely order a white wine on my own anymore.. teehee…

The tuna was super fresh…. MMM so tasty.. I had been craving some good sushi.. a LOT.. recently anyways so this made me super duper happy!!!! I actually wasn’t too much of a fun of the emulsion and the sweetness of the melons with the tuna…. I prefer my crudo to be a lot thinner… super thinly sliced so that it just melts in your mouth – these were just two pieces of sashimi, basically…

Second Course
Grilled Branzino with Tomatillo Nage and Native Corn Succotash
Paired with: 2010 Domaine de Houchart, Rosé, Côtes de Provence, France

I had to look up what Nage was…

Nage – An aromatic broth in which crustaceans are cooked. The shellfish is then served with this broth. The most notable of these dishes is lobster la nage.”  — Source

Rosé is usually too sweet…  and, to me, is an introductory “girly” wine that is bipolar and having an identity crisis -am I red of white?!- hahahaha… I’m being mean, no no, this wasn’t too bad – not sweet at all – I think I ended up drinking most of it :]

This was my favorite dish of the night.. I LOOOOOOOOOVE Branzino.. the original menu was supposed to be Mackeral but they switched it last minute to Branzino OMG delish!!!!  I love going to little Italian eateries and ordering a whole branzino, oven roasted or grilled with just lemon slices, salt and pepper [obviously] and some olive oil :] YUM!  The succotash was delicious, and very fresh but had a slight sour/tart taste to it, which was weird since it was also creamy.. it confused my taste buds a bit but I licked up the plate anyway… I like curious flavors :]

Main Course
Roasted Pork with Herbed Spatzle, Stone Fruits and Asparagus
Paired with: 2009 Bielsa, “Viñas Viejas” Campo de Borja, Spain

While I’m prone to spanish wines this isn’t my favorite – it paired well with the dish though, I drank it with the dish and had a few sips on it’s own… maybe it’s cuz I tried it with some of the other side dishes and/or still had some fish in my mouth… who knows…

The pork was nice and lean, I wish it was fattier, altho I did get a bite or two of a bit of that wonderful pork fat :] BUTTTT… it was a bit tough, still tasty though, loved the accompaniments tho… asparagus <3 My favorite! I’m also obsessed with spatzle.. wait isn’t it spelled spaetzle?!  Or something.. am I wrong or is the menu wrong? Who cares, the stuff is delicious! I even at the rest of my dinner date’s :D Super herby, doughy, “QQ” to be super fobby ;D TEEHEE

Side Dish: Rosemary Pommes Frites

My favorite – per usual :] I usually get these to go and actually nosh on them on the carride home #fattie I know :D

Side Dish: Sauteed Spinach with Parmesan

The spinach is always cooked to perfection with a beautiful sprinkle of parm :D Best of all worlds… and makes me feel semi-healthier :D

Cheese Course
Aged Gouda
Paired with: 2009 Beppe Marino, “Muray”, Moscato D’Asti, Piedmont, Italy

Light but sweet, yum yum, not a hugeee fan of sweet white wines anymore but it went great with the cheese!!!

CHEEEESE… well GOUUUUUUUUDA.. nice and aged :] MY FAVORITE.. while it wasn’t crunchy it was SOOO YUMMY!!!!!… Once again it was paired with more baguette… fig jam, apple slices, walnuts, hazelnuts, dried cranberries and a nice smudge juuuuuuggggeee or honey :] NOM!

Dessert Course
Grilled Peaches with Balsamic Gastrique and Champagne-Basil Seed Sabayon
This was more goopy than I imagined it would be.. I thought it’d be beautiful grilled peaches on a plate with a drizzle of the gastrique and the sabayon… it was really good though, the balsamic made it savory and the peaches were sooo sweet and had a delicious smokey grilled taste to them!!! YAY

Made some friends with our neighbors – the elder man was really really nice and asked if I was in the business hahaha… we also giggled around with the waitress who was super sweet :] She actually forgot the dessert at first and kicked herself for hearing wrong, silly girl :] Once again a beautiful meal, amazing wines and a wonderful time! Until next week……

XO

Trackbacks

  1. […] on White Peaches, catching up on blog posts – yes yes VEGAS is ,almost, finally done!!! – and sipping on some yummy sake […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

