Sel De La Terre: Wine Tuesday – “Italian Vacation”

Once again it’s my favorite time of the week – Wine Tuesday!!! Tuesdays are actually my least favorite day of the week.. but lately they’ve been one of my favorites!!! Always a delicious dinner and fabulous set of wines to drink from Sel de la Terre.

I started off with a Champagne Peche… light, sweet, peachy and lots of bubbly!!!

Bread Basket

First Course
Fig Chutney and Comté Crepes with Arugula
Paired with 2009 Giacosa Fretelli, Roero Arneis, Piedmont, Italy

I’m usually a huge fan of reds mostly but I loved this white wine the most.


This was my favorite dish of the night…. the crepes were tender and perfectly cooked.. the innards were SOOOOO cheesy and delicious.  The fig added a great texture and sweetness and more chew to the cheese. The arugula salad on the side really paired well with the crepes… it really accentuated the sweetness of the figs and cheese of the crepes and played up the texture of the whole dish.

Second Course
Pan Roasted Tuna with Tomato Basil Salad and Lemon Olive Oil
Paired with 2010 Masciarelli, “Villa Gemma”, “Rosé, Montepulciano D’Abruzzo, Italy


I’m not a huge fan of cooked tuna… my plate was actually really small pieces of tuna and therefore wayyy overcooked… they were actually almost completely well done.  My dinner date doesn’t like raw fish so we traded our fish.. her pieces were thick and just barely cooked on the outside… mmm raw and fresh on the inside. LOVE.  The tomato basil warm salad on the bottom was delicious… and I loved the added crunch of the potato strings over the fish.

Main Course
Grilled Sweet Italian Sausage with Ragout of Tomatoes and Yukon Gold Potatoes
Paied with 2007 Poggio Amorelli, Chianti Classico, Tuscany, Italy


The sausage was sooo good.. it tasted like a breakfast sausage…. usually when I have sausage in the morning or for brunch I get the worst stomachaches, but for dinner, yum yum, whole different story. So yummy in my tummy :] My dinner date couldn’t finish hers so I ate it for her :]

I also ordered a side of Sautéed Spinach with Parmesan…

Cheese Course
Piave Vecchio
Paired with Adami, “Garbél”, Brut, Prosecco, Treviso, Italy

A piave if a cow’s milk cheese that’s made in the Piave River Valley region of Belluno, Italy.  It’s a dense cheese with no holes and has a slightly sweet flavor.  Vecchio means “old” and tastes like a young Parmigiano Reggiano.  It’s great with Italian food and Italian wines…

The plate came with bread, dried crurants, grapes, pistachios, hazelnuts, apples, strawberry half and a smudge of a delicious flowery honey.

Dessert Course
Chocolate Mousse

This mousse was great – it had great texture and a nice hint of espresso and methinks cacao nibs.

Another great Wine Tuesday – another one tmw :]

Comments

  1. I went there for lunch yesterday! Roasted Tomato soup and mixed green salad, mmmm!

    Like

Leave a Reply

