Sel De La Terre: Wine Tuesday – “Rhône Valley”

Once again, Wine Tuesday is here… I love tuesdays :D

I had meetings out in Billericca today so I just went straight to Natick afterwards… did some shopping…. possibly a lot… I had a long list of things to get from Sephora.. and then, of course, stopped by Sweet Factory :] Half hour early so I sat down at my regular table in SDLT and got a drink while I waited for my date

Peche Royale

Champagne with some yummy peach… slightly sweet and definitely opened up my appetite for the rest of the night.

Finally my date got here, and so did the rest of the dinner guests… I think the hostess said 21+ people tonight!!!!.. woooo.. of COURSE I had interesting dinner neighbors, AGAIN…. they were kinda snotty and spoke French and acted like they knew everything already that  recognized some familiar faces as well…

Erik Johnson

Bread Basket <3

The Menu of the night…. YUM YUM

* First Course *

2010 CHÂTEAU L’EMITAGE, COSTIÈRES DE NÎMES BLANC, LANGUEDOC, FRANCE
Fig Chutney with Aged Gouda, Basil and Crostini

The white wine was light and crisp and I absolutely LOVED it!!!!

The original menu was supposed to be a Tomato Confit so I was slightly disappointed that it changed it to fig.. altho still VERY delicious. Some greens, pickled cauliflower… pinenuts… fig chutney… crostini.. and then delicious sauce… savory.. which balanced perfectly with the DELICIOUS aged Gouda.. I’m so used to a hard crunchy gouda… I forgot how amazing non-fridged perfectly fresh Gouda was <3 Aged to PERFECTION… which reminds me I need to restock on my cheese…

* Second Course *

2010 JABOULET, “PARALLÈLE 45”, ROSÉ, CÔTES-DU-RHÔNE, FRANCE
Étuve of Halibut with Pearl Barley and Dijon Mustard Vinaigrette

I’m not a huge fan of Roses anymore…  I used to be when I was younger and just getting into wine… now I want my white or red… altho I do tend to enjoy rose champagnes :]  ANYWAYS… was told that this was one of the few Roses from the region [methinks, not 100% sure… I was a few glasses in by now] This was pretty tasty tho :]

The halibut had a tart smell to it.. and was sooo tender.. sooo flakey and delicious.  A nice delicious slippery skin on the side and atop a nice creamy but firm pearl barley “risotto”… with some carrots in it – DELISH!!  I loved the bit of herbs on top.. added to the texture of the fish.. PERFECTLY cooked!!!!

* Main Course *

2009  LA FERME DU MONT, “PREMIÈR CÔTE”, CÔTES-DU-RHÔNE, FRANCE
Roasted Duck Leg with Celery Root , Potatoes Anna and Cherry Gastrique

Very very nice French red… I tend to not lik French reds.. I find them too earthy… but I always seem to like Rhone region reds… this was delicious… delicate yet robust at the same time… totally enjoyed it… not too heavy.. MMM… paired great with the duck

The duck… oh my, the duck. Methinks the greens was a nice swiss chard… delicious potatoes, thinly sliced and stacked atop each other.. the celery root puree was delicious but I wanted a lot more… very potato like… and then duck OH the duck – the skin was yummy [could’ve been crisper] but just the right amount of fat…. very meaty and just perfectly cooked.. I had some bad roast duck last night from chinatown so this made me so so happy

* Side Order * of Sautéed Spinach with Parmesan 

Nicely wilted, not overly so with a nice light bit of parm on top… wished it was garlicky but this was perfectly cooked MMM.. I hate when spinach gets too mushy….

* Cheese Course *

2009 LES GRAND BOIS, “CUVÉE LES  TROIS SOEURS”, CÔTES-DU-RHÔNE, FRANCE
Fromage d’Affinois, France

This wine was definitely a lot heavier and more to it than the last red, so this may have been a least favorite out of the bunch, BUT….. this paired great with the cheese…

The cheese was brie like – light cow’s milk… very delicious.

Dessert

So the dessert was supposed to be…
Fondant Cake with Honey Fromage Blanc and Vanilla Ice Cream

WHICH ended up looking kinda meh compared to what I got served.. for some reason this was placed in front of me….:

“Grand Dessert”Warm Chocolate Fondant Cake
Vanilla Ice Cream
Berry Ice Cream
Guava Sorbet
Meyer Lemon Pudding Cake
Vanilla Creme Brulee
& the BEST Sugared Honey Lavender Beignets with Orange Blossom Anglaise

there was also thi delicious jelly sort of  thing with Passionfruit and coconut… SOOOOO amazing!!!

I shoved the whole plate down my throat.. AMAZINZG… the beignets were to DIE for.. the creme brulee.. OMG.. the guava sorbet… everything was just sooooo delicious.. not too sweet and just a great combo – I have been to SDLT SOOO many times and NEVER saw this tasting of desserts.. must be fairly new but DEFINITELY order this next time you go, hell just go and order THIS!

Til next Tuesday… :]

Trackbacks

  1. […] back here, slim to none chance, I’ll get sushi.  I’ll stick to L’Espalier and Sel de la Terre and others for my French choice. Speaking of which.. I miss Chef Ed Cotton’s food at Plein […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

