Sel de la Terre: Wine Tuesday – “Summer of Riesling”

It’s been awhile… in blogging and in wine tastings at SDLT… my “local” little hangout… :]  I use local in quotes since it’s a pretty well known restaurant.. just really near my home in the middle of the woods :] TEEHEE…

Wine Tasting Dinner
“Summer of Riesling”

* * * * * * *

First Course

2007 Trimbach, Fiesling, Alsace, France

This was my favorite riesling of the bunch, mostly because it was the least sweet out of all of them… my favorite :] So much so, dinner date gave me their’s after a few sips of their own :D TEEHEE…

Smoked Salmon with Pea Tendrils, Celery Root and Roasted Fennel Puree

SO amazing – you could tell this was totally in-house smoked salmon. SUCH great soft creamy texture with just the right amount of chew to it.  The puree was SO creamy and delicious…. the little pea tendril salad was delishhhh… and no bread necessary [altho a lot of the guests did eat it with the bread basket]

* * * * * * *

Second Course

2008 Mt Difficulty, “Roaring Meg”, Riesling, Central Otago, New Zealand

Grilled Trout with Swiss Chard, Herbed Spaetzle and Grilled Scallions

Seperately I wasn’t too into the wine but paired with the trout, delicious. I wish the skin had been de-scaled since I had some nibbles of it and it was good… MMM…. the meat was sooo delicious – SUCH fresh and straight up trout… if you love the natural taste of trout like I do – I just like to lightly panfry it with salt and pepper and a squeeze of lemon at home – this is perfect. The spaetzle was SO good, especially the toasted crunchity parts… delicious not overcooked swiss chard – one of my fav veggies.. – and a yum scallion :D more please!!!!

* * * * * * *

Main Course

2008 Weins-Prum, Riesling, Graacher Domprobst Kabinett, Mosel, Germany

Herb Roasted Chicken with Grilled Peach, Ricotta, Asparagus and Red Bliss Potatoes

This was delicious!!!!…. Chicken breast, cooked perfectly.. amazing crispity skin, just enough fattiness on it but not overwhlemingly so… so I still felt super svelte and healthy TEEHEE… asparagus had a light buttery taste to them… and I loooved the grilled peach with the ricotta. YUM!

* * * * * * *

Cheese Course

2008 Reuscher, Riesling, Piesporter Goldtropfchen Kabinett, Mosel-Saar-Ruwer, Germany

The pairing was supposed to be a Goat Cheese, Humboldt Fog, California

but I asked for a Cow’s milk cheese and they gave me a delicious hard cheese :]

My date wasn’t too into the cheese, had some but gave me the rest since I LOOOOOVED IT.. gnaw gnaw gnaw, emptied out half the bread basket too :] YUM!

* * * * * * *

Dessert Course
Chocolate Mousse with Coconut Macaroons

If people are interested in a rendevoux with me sometime at Sel de la Terre, Natick [or any other wine tastings/pairings/dinners in the Boston area] just let me know – I’m SO down! But for SDLT I’ll SO be there – just let me know!!! You can even guest blog on here :D woo

Leave a Reply

