Out of the Brunch Funk thanks to Resto

If restaurants were people I’d be having a steamy love affair with Resto. It’s the ONLY restaurant in NYC that I’ve been back to over and over and over and over and over and over and over again [yeah I’m losing count] and has NEVER let me down – EVER!!!! How many guys in the world can you find like that? Slim to none.

I think Chef Bobby is :] I’d just like to forever live in a box in his kitchen – he could throw me the leftover scraps and I’d probably be in fatty heaven for the rest of my life. Hey, a girl can dream right?

So I haven’t been here in awhile… since I left the city back in November. I’d been gushing about it to Z for ages and so finally we came here for a good brunch. We’ve been having a lot of brunch fails, if you haven’t noticed… over and over and over and over….. well it’s depressing TO count. But I knew that Resto was gonna be a sure thing, a sure bet.  Plus, I hadn’t seen Chef Bobby in so long, I feel like I’ve been cheating on him with bad food.

And it was like I had never left. We were instantly greeted at the front door, seated and got two glasses of Cava poured for us :] Compliments of the Chef <3

Special of the Day:

To start we had: One Mimosa, One Salty Dog

I had to get Z to try everything, so we ordered… even a thing off the Brunch menu :] More on that when it comes….

We were surprised with some complimentary chocolate beignets. Now Resto’s beignets are FREAKING AMAZING. But CHOCOLATE ones?!…. NOTHING could wipe this smile off my face after these..

Chocolate Beignets and Chocolate Dipping Sauce

Thick Bacon

YOu have not had THICK bacon until you’ve had Resto’s bacon. Z didn’t even expect such thick bacon [this is why I get depressed at brunch when my bacon comes back thin and flimsy aka Masa bacon] THICK, succulent and juicy. Now THIS is real bacon.

Boudin Noir

Toast, Butter

After a depressing blood pudding at Telepan I needed some good blood sausage, so why not here?! They never fail me…. and boy was it good :D

Look at that beautiful chunky spread

Dutch Baby

Powered Sugar, Lemon

So fluffy.. like a fluffy crepe… thinner than a pancake, thicker than a crepe. So happy. Just a little simplicity goes a long way…. so light I don’t even feel guilty considering how much carbs and fat I’d be ingesting this entire meal hahahaha…. IN FACT, this is probably the lightest thing we ordered.. lol

Then came our off-menu brunch item. I HAD to let Z taste it and I HAD to have it again. *swoon*

Tete de Cochon

Pastrami Rub, Slaw, Jalapeno Sour Cream, Brioche


Isn’t it pure gorgeousness? It tasted even better than it looks too… it might not be the same Last Supper Sandwich [which was more “Bahn Mi” type] I had last time [Chef Bobby has changed it since, keeping me on my toes hahaha] but it is still SOOOOOOOO freaking DELICIOUS!!! Buttery bread, everything just melds together and melts in your mouth… feels soooooo happy going down your throat into your tummy. The ULTIMATE meal – can you believe this is considered an app?! Can I just down two of these and call it a day?! *sigh* So happy.. I daydream about this sandwich ALL. THE. TIME.

And then another one of my favorites:

Pig’s Ear Salad

Spinach, Sliced Egg, Oyster Mushrooms, Charred Scallion Vinaigrette

The perfect balance of crisp fried piggie ears, refreshing salad of spinach and mushrooms and the neutral egg. I could, literally, eat a bag of these pig ears like pork rinds from the gas station. Yes please. Who needs popcorn at the movies when you have fried pig ears? Ahhh LOVES. It’s SO awesome to see a different take on pig’s ears instead of the usual thinly sliced cold dishes from chinese restaurants [which I love, but come on, I love it when non-Asian food uses “sketch” parts :D]

Then came the most amazing grilled cheese EVER.

Grilled Cheese

Vermont Cheddar, Gruyere, Bacon, Pork Belly, Greens

Now, I’m a purest, usually I won’t acknowledge a grilled cheese as BEING a grilled cheese with anything in it BUT cheese.. but this, changes EVERYTHING.  Even at the Guy Fieri Beach Afterparty, I still preferred the OG JUST CHEESE grilled cheese over the one with fatty pork…. but this, OH this… is a gift from above.

Look at that delicious cheesy gooeiness…

Gooey, cheesy, salty, creamy, the crunch of the bread and the butteriness of it, and then you have the chewy bacon and fatty pork inside. OH MY LORDY. Full beyond belief but I still gobbled my half down asap.

Boudin Noir Frittata

Boudin Noir, Spring Onion, Arugula

This was fresh, fluffy and delicious. The boudin noir was plentiful and chock full of delicious fresh spring onions [scallions] which played beautifully with the bitter crunch of the arugula. Unfortunately this was like the only thing we didn’t finish cuz we were SOOOO fulllllllll *stuffed* I mean did you see everything we just ate? We ate all the boudin and like half of the eggs…. I was picking at the arugula, I love my greens :D

Toast to go with my Frittata

Crispity crunchity toast with some butter and salt :D Z had some, I had a nibble hehehe….

SO since we ended up drinking a few glasses of the Framboise Mimosa [altho thanks to recommendations by our awesome waiter] which was AMAZING so we got to talking about it with our AWESOME waiter. He suggested this beer, and they gave us a bottle, on the house, awesome – it was sour but really tasty.

Liege Waffles

Salted Caramel Sauce, Salted Caramel Ice Cream

We were just gonna get the normal liege waffles, but thanks to our most EXCELLENT waiter, he suggested the one with SALTED caramel NOT on the menu ;D winkity wink wink. THIS. WAS. AMAZING. Fresh warm waffles nestling delicious salty caramel sauce and a soft ice cream….. death by salted caramel. I am SUCH a waffles girl, you have no idea. Screw pancakes and french toast. WAFFLES FTW!!!

Warm Gingerbread Cake

Caramel Apple Compote, Vanilla Gelato, Whipped Cream

Warm, gingerbread-y…. so delicious. The apple compote was a nice touch :D NOM! It wasn’t sweet at all – I hate overly sweet gingerbread, this was amazing [per usual to anything you get from Resto]

Ok. SO, I may be a bit biased since I adore this place and the chef so much. It’s so homey feeling and the people are absolutely GREAT. Whether or not I’ve met them before, seen them before, talked with them before or it’s the first time, they always are the sweetest friendliest people here. ALSO, Chef Bobby actually took the time out to come out and explain some of the dishes to us – AMAZING. TOTAL respect for all the chefs who actually WORK IN the restaurant most of the time. PROPS.

Resto has not failed me once and I doubt it ever will :D

Afterwards, food coma’d to the point of no return, what did we do?!… go to Eataly to drink more and buy more food…. including this find:

YEP. Banana Stracciatella Gelato <3 We also got this chocolate cookie one and of course, our fav, hazelnut :D NOM NOM NOM!

Comments

  1. I was really sad when my friend booked their $25 pre-fixe brunch banquet and I couldn’t make it. I’ve been wanting to try Resto for over a year now. Food looks amazing!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. […] 2010 and 2011 anyone?] Thick and dripping in maple flavor…. only place in competition is Resto’s […]

    Like

  2. […] and looked like Lenny Kravtiz… swanky… anyways. THIS WAS SO GOOD.  Salty Ice Cream, reminiscent of Resto’s…. but then more salty a la L’Artusi’s sea salt gelato… OMG FREAKING […]

    Like

  3. […] can I say?! It’s in my blood.. blame my genes :]  Now, I’m a lover of brunch… Bloody Marys, Mimosas.. Waffles….. Gooey Eggs, Bacon.. the works, I’m all up on that.. but I’m […]

    Like

  4. […] Did you guys go to Stop&Shop and get ghetto skinny lame bacon and make it for me?!  Missing Resto’s and Publican’s…. I LOVE BACON. DUH. I need it nice and thick and amazing.  Not flimsy […]

    Like

  5. […] 2 The other Last Supper sandwich… at brunch Pastrami Rub, Slaw, Jalapeno Sour Cream, Brioche […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

