Most Fabulous, Per Se

 

I woke up to a delivery of this….

Gorgeous, isn’t it?!… It was funny because I was super annoyed being woken up by our security downstairs.. they kept calling and calling and calling me…. and at first I was avoiding picking up the phone… but finally I gave in…. hahahaha

Onwards.

I was told that I was bring brought to Gordon Ramsay at the London – which is also fab but I had my heart set on Per Se for the special occasion…… BUUUUUTTTT I was sooo surprised when I was taken into Columbus Circle… I was like.. this isn’t where Gordon Ramsay is….. SURPRISE!!!!

He told me he had booked it over a month in advance already and was just PRETENDING that he did’nt try til a week ago. Silly guy.. I was all smiles :]

He got the Chef’s Tasting and I got the Vegetarian Tasting so that way instead of just the same 9 courses, we get 18 different courses to try :D We also got a wine pairing for every 2 dishes of ours…

We started off with our usual champagne…. we were recommended this delicious Rosé sparkling… now I’m not a huge fan of Rosé, especially when it’s sparkling, but this was delicious….

Billecart-Salmon, Rosé, Mareuil-sur-Aÿ MV

— Amuse Bouche —


Gruyere Puffs… they were like warm gooey cheez itz – they were sooo freaking good… I could pop these like popcorn or chips at the movies…..


Cute little cones of yum yums


Mine was a Fava Bean Puree with Creme Fraiche


His was a Tuna Tartare with Chives but the bottom was also filled with creme fraiche :]

Yum yum yum… after we nibbled on both…. I ended up eating his… LOOOOVE tartare…. tuna is ONLY good completely raw… I refuse to eat it any other way.

Their breads were amazing…

Soft and pillowy… everytime I see rolls like this I think of Heidi… no not barbie Montag with the size H boobs and plastic face… [gross] but HEIDI… the book…. it was one of my favorite stories growing up as a child…  Rolls make me think of, in the 70s cartoon series, when she saves all the rolls in her closet to give to the granny who has bad teeth and needs soft bread. AHH TOO CUTE :]

Pretzel Roll, Rye Bread = BOTH YUM!

“Bouquetiére de Légumes de Printemps Cuits et Crus”

Spring Vegetable Couillon “en Gelée” and Pine Nut Coulis

Delicious. It’s so weird eating a cold soup as a gelee.. but it was delicious. There was SOOO much gelee in it that I ran out of salad to eat with it – such fresh delicious crisp veggies – but it was SO good on it’s own too…

“Oysters and Pearls”

“Sabayon” of Pearl Tapioca with Island Creek Oysters and Sterling White Sturgeon Caviar

Heavenly. I’ve been craving caviar… good caviar, for awhile now. The oysters were so tender and poached so perfectly in a delicious buttery chive sauce. The caviar was AMAZING. I ended up stealing most of R’s caviar :D


Salomon Undhof, Grüner Veltliner, “Von Stein,” Kremstal 2008

“Asperge en Feuille de Bric”

Young Radishes and Red Ribbon Sorrel with Black Winter Truffle Mayonnaise

It was so pretty it was so hard to eat…. but of course I did… and it was SOOOO GOOD. Fresh asparagus wrapped in a thin phyllo and flash fried crisp but not greasy at all. The sauces were amazing. YUM for truffle mayo :] Anyone that can make me enjoy mayo is a genius. I practically licked the plate clean.


Chateau Pajzos, Asz , 5 Puttonyos, Toakji, Hungary 1999

“Gâteau” of Hudson Valley Moulard Duck Foie Gras

Oatmeal “Financier,” Strawberry Gelée, Cutting Celery, Green Almonds, Greek Yogurt and Aged Balsamic Vinegar with Toasted Brioche


Delicious… I’m usually not a fan of cold mousse or pate of foie but this was amazing. The strawberry gelee and fresh berries just worked perfectly to balance the foie with the delicious thick crisp toast. They even came back to give us fresh WARMER bread after we had a slice.


Raymond Usseglio, “Roussane Pur,” Châteauneuf-du-Pape 2008

Garbanzo Bean “Croquettes”

Heirloom Carrots, Coriander Glaze, Cilantro Shoots and Niçoise Olive Oil with Preserved Meyer Lemon

I’m becoming a huge fan of croquettes. Amazing. And with the lemon it was even better :] Not only were the colors on the plate beautiful and colorful, so were the flavors and textures in my mouth. Happy dancing around of salty, sweet, crisp, tender insides. YUM.

White Asparagus “Amandine”

Ramp Top “Subric,” Oregon Morel Mushrooms, “Emincée” of Green Almonds and Mizuna

What more can I say? White asparagus.. sweet and delicious… with ramps and morels… life is great. Sometimes it was just so hard to share with R :] Hahahaha.. but I was greedy and wanted his dishes too….


Ramonet, Chassagne-Montrachet 2007

Fillet of Atlantic Halibut “En Persillade”

“Cassoulet” of Spring Pole Beans with Garlic Scapes and Armando Manni Extra Virgin Olive Oil Emulsion

Super super super tender and moist halibut. I’ve had bad halibut. I feel like, like swordfish, since it’s such a thick, steak-like fish, it can get overcooked. When making it myself, I like it – like most fish – simple. Just a quick panfry on both sides and it’s beautiful. I loved the crust on the outside that gaveway to the tender juicy meat inside. YUM.

Butter Poached Nova Scotia Lobster Mitts

San Marzano Tomato “Pain Perdu”, English Cucumbers and Watercress Leaves with Horseradish Mousseline

Yum yum yum yum yum :] I LOVE LOBSTER. But I’m also super picky of my lobster. I’m the girl that travels to maine when I’m in the mood for good lobster so I can choose my own lobster and get it steamed or boiled right in front of me so I can eat it. I’m also the girl who had the 13-15 lb lobster once at Legal’s… I love a good tasty lobster. This was perfect. Simple and delicious. Didn’t need sauce or anything. Totally enjoyed the cuc with watercress rolls too :] Like cute little maki rolls…


Hudson Vineyards, Chardonnay, Carneros 2007

Coddled Squire Hill Farms’ Ameraucana Hen Egg


Brioche Soldiers and Smoked Onion “Soubise” with Black Winter Truffle Purée

SOOOOOOOOOOOO DELICIOUS. You could SMELL the truffle.. and just.. yum… a little egg yolk always makes creamy soups that much better too.. dip dip dip… dipped with this brioche toast fries :] YUM!

Marscapone Enriched Yukon Gold Potato “Agnolotti”

New Crop Potatoes and Split English Peas with Lovage Cream

Crisp potato top… creamy sauce with the agnolotti. Divine. And worked beautiful with the wine.

“Gardunha”

Grilled Globe Artichokes, Persian Cucumbers, Roquette and Eggplant Confit with Pimeonton Aïoli

There were two choices for the “cheese course”… a bluecheese one and this one, which originally had goat cheese… both I’m not a huge fan of, so I requested the artichokes with a lighter, less pungent cheese, or just none at all. They opted to give me no cheese at all, WHICH I ADORED, because I’ve said this more than once, I HATE when people overpower artichokes with a strong cheese. Artichokes are just so delicious and flavorful all their own. YUM!



Hirsch Vineyards, Pinot Noir, “Block 6E,” Sonoma Coast 2007


This was really really really exclusive wine and no two tastes the same… absolutely divine wine. We will most likely, and anyone else, never get to have this wine ever again.

“Rillettes” of Salmon Creek Farms’ Pork Belly

Greenmarket Turnips, Compressed Honey Crisp Apples and Mizuna with Apple Cider Mignonette

I think the description speaks for itself. Pork Belly = Love.

Snake River Farms’ “Calotte de Boeuf Grillée”

Corned Tongue “Hash” and Marinated Young Onions with Whole Grain Mustard Sauce

Tender and amazing. The beef, the tongue hash… I was eating all of it…. Oops.. wait, this was R’s dish right?!

“Doset”

“Pomme Dauphine,” Creamed Arrowleaf Spinach and Frisée with Morel Mushroom Vinaigrette

Simple and yummy.

— Desserts — I’m not even sure how to describe all of these desserts except they were nothing but absolutely perfection. We licked each plate clean and left NOTHING for them to clean off :]  They were just so delicious and the pairings with the dessert wines were delicious.


Kracher, “Cuvée Bernauslese,” Burgenland 2007

Blueberry Sorbet

Cornmeal “Financier,” Poppy Seed Brittle and Toffee-Créme Fraîche

“Trinity and Hearts”

Rhubarb Ja, Yogurt “Bavarois” and Crystallized Rose Petals with Rose-Scented Yogurt Sherbet


Moraitis, Monemvasia, “Liastos,” Paros Island 2006

Iced Raspberry Parfait

Macerated Pudwill Farm’s Raspberries and Hazelnut Mousse with Raspberry Sorbet

— Mignardises —


Butter Popcorn Cream Puffs.. they just pop in your mouth – it sounds gross, like popcorn jellybeans, but these were DIVINE.


Homemade Donuts Holes…


Frozen Cappuccino

They only told us they were cappuccinos at first, which is funny cuz we tried drinking them.. and then they told us it was a frozen ice cream sort. So we dipped our donuts in the


Truffles, Macarons and Caramels

Afterwards, Anthony gave us a tour of the kitchen….

They’re actually shared with Bouchon bakery :] YUM!

Beautiful [and tasty] Memories

Trackbacks

  1. […] an experience… and maybe I’m just a bit French Food snobbish since I’ve had Per Se and one of my favorite restaurants in Boston is L’Espalier and all… but this was kinda […]

    Like

  2. […] life, definitely one of the best in NYC… considering I’ve been to many of the greats, Per Se, Le Cirque and Le Bernardin, […]

    Like

  3. […] multiple restaurants that I’ve been to – not just Michael White’s.  Le Cirque. Per Se. Le Bernardin. Bouley. This was SO beautiful. A perfectly poached egg not hidden in anything but […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

