“Life is Better with Butter!” at Mizuna

“I absolutely love food. I focus on quality, and I’m wholly committed to using the freshest ingredients available. My philosophy is: let the food speak for itself.”

Chef Frank Bonanno

Before heading out to Denver I comprised a list of MUST-EATS and at the top of the list was MIZUNA.


freshly baked breads.. white & olive…with butter, herb butter and butter with sea salt

The bread was sooo fluffy on the inside and the crust was so chewy and delicious. LOVED the butter with the crunchy sea salt with the olive bread. I’m a fan.


Walnut-Stuffed Gnocchi
braised rabbit, onion soubise, appenzeller
Paired with: Domaine des Romarins Côtes du Rhône 2008, France

Tender, fluffy potato-y gnocchi :] Subtle crunch and flavor of walnuts on the inside but the star of the dish was most definitely the rabbit.


Slow Roasted Hudson Valley Foie Gras
isabelle farms butternut squash stuffing, sage
Paired with:  Maison Nicolas Sauternes 2005, Bordeaux, France

I haven’t had foie since my foie upset in Anguilla…[and for really good reason I’d like to say] but this was SUCHHH a good way to start a comeback to my daily intake of foie. Seared perfectly… it was tenderrr and sooooo juicy and melted in my mouth to a buttery deliciousness…. the squash stuffing was good too [but unnecessary] the foie was able to stand on its own. YUM!


Frisée Salad
roasted figs, duck cracklin’, foie gras torchon
Paired with: Infinite Monkey Theorem 2008 Sauvignon Blanc/Semillon, Grand Valley, Colorado

Delicious! My only gripe was that there wasn’t enough duck cracklin’… only two tiny pieces :[ We saved it for our last bite with the cracklin’ some of the shaved foie, 1/4 of a fig and some greens. Amazing!!!


Striped Bass [sustainable, from local co farm]
brandade-potato croquette, burgundian truffle emulsion, braised leek
Paired with: Martín Códax Albariño Rías Baixas 2006, Spain

I love eating sustainably when I get the chance to support it – especially at restaurants. So I was pretty much sold once our waiter told us about this dish… And it was SOOOO delicious. The croquettes actually reminded me of 蘿蔔糕 – daikon radish cakes.


Pan Roasted Ostrich Loin
chestnut bread pudding, caramelized cipollini, brussels sprouts

Paired with: Miguel Gascon Malbec Mendoza 2008, Argentina

Very tender and succulent. The meat was juicy and cooked perfectly. It paired really well with the wine and the chestnut bread pudding was sweet and to die for. I’m


White Chocolate Mousse-Stuffed Crêpes
caramelized banana foam & candied walnuts


Cream-Filled Beignets
espresso anglaise & praline ice cream

I wanted to love these, cuz I love beignets… but they weren’t fluffy they were a bit too heavy…. and with Butter’s delicious raspberry beignets in the back of my mind the whole time.. these just didn’t add up. And where was the cream? Completely creamless except for some of that goo you see on the plate :[ It was sad…


The Desserts paired with: Blandy’s 15 Year Old Malmsey Madeira

Trackbacks

  1. […] oh so fluffy and delicious when done right [even mind-blowingly amazing] but it’s usually done totally wrong. The […]

    Like

  2. […] added on a House Made Potato Gnocchi.. and R warned me not to since we’ve had amazing gnocchi.. but I was already noshing on like 6+ pieces of bread and was desperate.. and I wasn’t about […]

    Like

  3. […] been awhile since I’ve had amazing gnocchi – the best probably being Le Cirque or Mizuna….I mean the last time I had gnocchi was horrible.  Horrible gnocchi which ended in a […]

    Like

  4. […] Gnocchi w/ braised rabbit, onion soubise, appenzeller Mizuna, […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

