OctoBEER Fest a la Rick Gresh

Oh Gresh, you genius you! Not only can you cook you can brew some delicious delicious beer. I don’t remember the last time I DRANK this much beer… maybe since college?!?!?!… And back in those days it was just cheap beer too… yours?! I’d pay a LOT for it :] I’m SUCH a fan!


The peach one was (also the first one we got) was one of my fav beers of the nite :] Read on below to find out the details

Let’s start from the beginning.. SO… once again I was accompanied by two of my favorite foodies :] Boyfriend & his brother!!! (You saw how much we threw down @ Anteprima and boyfriend & I could’ve still eaten more after that! We clear out restaurants with our appetites)

I’ll begin with boyfriend & I’s brunch :] We woke up early and walked over to Uncommon Ground for their amazing brunch! I’m such a fan and today we wanted both savory and sweet… so


Apple Crisp French Toast w/ Ricotta & Almonds … and do you see those delicious chicken, maple, sage sausages in the background. Emphasis on DELICIOUS.


We always need some yogurt, fruit and granola!!! I love how they do it here.. the fresh yogurts and fruits and granola on top AND underneath the yogurt *swoon*


The Gunthorp Farm Chicken Enchilada Skillet with smoked chili sauce, chihuahua cheese, guacamole, sour cream & fried eggs.

AH heaven :]

OKAY.. onwards.. it’s time to talk PRIMEHOUSE! We got there a bit too early so we walked around the block a couple of times.. Checked out some nice restaurant menus and then promptly came back to sit in the bar/lounge and ordered some currant drinks…


I got a Rosy Glow, which is sparkling wine, red currants and a white pepper compote


The boys got a hot toddy (with rum and red currants) and it came with a yum honey stick!

& then the beer + snacks started coming for the “reception” part of the special Dinner:] And Rick was even sweet enough to chit chat with and and explain about the apps and the beers to us. OH boy were we excited.

The beers —

Stoned Wheat…seedling farm peach infused wheat beer, zesty aroma


Belgian Blond…snow white head, gold color, spice, malt hops & orange essence

The snacks —

Lardo pizza (yes, LARDo) with shrooms.. delish! I had two :]


Lamb Proscuitto wrapped around apple..
This was tasty but still too lamby to me, but boyfriend was glad to take it from me :]


Mortadella.. wait for it wait for it.. FRIED Mortadella… AND.. with a mayo :] OH MY OH MY!!! I totally could’ve eaten a ton of these.. deliciously fatty heaven!!!

Once again I’m pwn’d by too much delicious booze (seriously they were pouring the beer and refilling glasses like crazy.. I even somehow ended up with TWO glasses at the entree…) Let me explain….


The menu

You start off with their amazing popovers.. except this time it was a CHEESY popover. Um, THAT just happened. Their delicious popovers just got THAT much better. CHEESE!

First Pairing —

Working Man Champagne…whipped cream head, golden body, toasted bread aroma, malt, fruits & spicy hops


Beet Cured Sturgeon
grilled brioche, butter whipped brie & spiced bacon mustard

THAT BRIE & MUSTARD = EFFING AMAZING!!! This was so tasty!!! And totally not what I expected… I could’ve had a few more plates of these..

Second Pairing —

I-PAC (India Pale Ale With Chamomile)…malt, toffee, caramel apples and floral hops that finish with chamomile


Shrimp & Chorizo Cake
charred corn & roasted sweet pepper vinaigrette

You can’t go wrong with shrimp and chorizo :] Chorizo makes everything better.. almost like bacon!!!!… MMM and the corn puree was delicious

Main Pairing —

2 Wood Ale…reddish brown color, sweet aroma, caramel, toasted malt & velvety mouth feel, started with birch syrup & finished with african mahogany

SEE!!! Dangerous.. TWO glasses… of the same yummy beer…


40 Day Dry Aged Slow Roasted Prime Rib
caramelized onion gratin & grilled lobster mushrooms

Primehouse SERIOUSLY made me fall in love with steaks again.. good steaks, since that time I came earlier in the summer.

Dessert Pairing —

The figgy filled dessert:Sticky Toffee Pudding
chicory creme brulee & chocolate coffee caramel

The beer: Mr. Peabody Porter…rich, full bodied, bittersweet, chocolate & coffee


We met some great fellow tweeters/foodies @rareteacellar & @breannabeike who sat with us!!!!


______________________

BTW, I saw WOLVERINE finally last night (whilst sharing a Chocolate Turtle Tart & a Baked Fruit Tart with the boy) and I love how badass Sabertooth was in the movie… Wish there was more DeadPool (LOVE Ryan Reynolds.. um, hottie much?)…

lick lick*

but the CG was HORRENDOUS :[ Sad.


HOTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT :]
I wish there was blood & more gore tho to make it even more badass!!!!

btw, wth happened to Daniel Henney and his hotness from the K-Drama “My Name is Sam-Soon” ??? Hotness fail :[ I think he just got older and fatter, that’s why *sadface*

Anyways this brings me into another thing I’d like to share. I’m obsessed with Marvel’s Ultimate Alliance 2.. makes me want to play the first one again too :] And I think I just might!!! Hahaha…

Ok, I’m done being a nerd now:]

Trackbacks

  1. […] Read about my other Primehouse posts – Foie Gras Flight Primehouse’s Birthday 2009 Rick Gresh’s OktoBEER Fest 2009 […]

    Like

  2. […] we got was purely heavenly…. time to go back to Chicago to give Rick a HUUUUUGE hug and then eat his great food […]

    Like

  3. […] how this was a FAMILY STYLE meal. The long tables and meeting new people totally brought me back to Rick Gresh’s OktoBEER dinners last fall but what made this different was how we were “forced” to interact […]

    Like

  4. […] I knew I had to be there. I’m obsessed with beer pairings, my first official one being Rick Gresh’s, so this was a must-go.  Unfortunately we didn’t get a spot but Patrick, the person to call […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

