Sel de al Terre – WIne Dinner – Wines for the Harvest Table

I can never say no to a Wine Dinner when I’m in town……

Wines for the Harvest Table

Amuse Bouche
ASF Butternut Squash and Apple Soup

The problem tonight was that they poured the first wine for the first course WAY before the amuse came out. Good thing I drank slowly and it paired well with the first course AND the amuse.  In fact it turned out to be my favorite wine of the night.

First Course
Young Greens, Cucumber, Almonds, Citrus Vinaigrette

This was a nice night salad. Delicious and licked it up.  No cheese, simple and amazing.  Crunch and texture from the almonds AND the greens were amazing.

Paired with 2006 Westport Rivers, “Cuve RJR: Brut, Westport, Massachusetts

Second Course
Pan Seared Atlantic Salon, ASF Braised Greens, Raspberry Butter Sauce

Aside from the raspberry butter sauce I loved this dish. The salmon was cooked to perfection.  The greens were cooked down t amazing-ness.  Microgreens fr some fresh crunch… but the sauce was too sweet and buttery.. too rich for my liking.  Raspberry Butter Sauce? Gag. It wasn’t my sort of thing…….. and hopefully not too many other ppls. Sorry SDLT. Not so good. The pairing was good though.. a nice light red.. I guess more of a rose.

Paired with 2010 Elio Perrone, Bigora Rosato, Castiglione, Italy

Side Dish of Sauteed ASF Tatsoi – basically 塌棵菜 a chinese Mustard Spinach

Great green…. not well cooked. SAD.

Main Course
Grilled Hanger Steak, ASF Turips, Carrots, Red Wine Demi-Glace
Paired with 2011 Peloverga, Comm. G.B. Burlotto, Verduno, Italy

I loved the fall vegetables but I actually wasn’t too into the steak… not that it wasn’t cooked well or anything, maybe I was just full.  I don’t think I finished the wine either.  The beef, though, almost tasted gamey. But remember I’ve been sick for awhile and things just taste weird to me lately.  All my medications make me less hungry and have different tastebuds.

Formage Course
Shelbourne Cheddar
Paired with 2006 Concha y Toro, Late Harvest, Sauvignon Blanc, Chile

DElICIIIIIOUS I ate it all. ALL

And I came home to a black cat in the house. GASP. Many years of Cute Luck.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,767 other followers

